top of page
Sussex Board of Directors

Board of Directors 2022-2023

The Sussex Board of Directors are elected by Sussex Parents and provide leadership in school governance, strategic planning, and long-term school advancement in partnership with the Head of School. The board collectively performs each of these key responsibilities:

  • Support of the school's mission, values, and goals.

  • Provides counsel, oversight, evaluation, and support to the Head of School.

  • Annual self-assessment of the Sussex Board to measure performance and effectiveness.

  • Service on board committees or task forces, and active contribution towards the completion of tasks and projects.

  • Direct support of annual school fundraising and advancement.

  • Approval of Sussex School’s annual budget, tuition, and material business decisions.

  • Maintaining governance requirements for accreditation.

  • Engaging in long-term strategic planning of the school, and in actions required to see strategic plans to fruition.

  • Serve as an ambassador of Sussex School, building awareness and excitement within our own community, and within the larger community about our school.

  • Ensuring Sussex School’s commitment to a high-impact board and staff, and a joyful and creative progressive learning community.

Much of the work of the Sussex Board is done in committees that are open to our community members to join, including: Advancement; Facilities; Technology; and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. Please reach out to learn more about the Sussex Board of Directors or how to get involved! 


Ange Anderson, President

Nick Kujawa, Vice President

Katie James, Treasurer

D'Et Heffington, Secretary

Members-at Large

Kiki Hubbard

Stephanie Lathrop

George Laufenberg

Melissa Neidigh

Charity O'Connor

Sabrina Smith

Ben Jimenez '95, Alumni Liaison

Bente Winston, Founder

Teacher Representatives

Kris LaRoche

Matt Zunker

Student Representatives

Logan Anderson '23

Keira Kujawa '22

Join Sussex School Today

Board Committees

Learn about each committee below.

bottom of page